Hisham Matar, Adonis Big Winners at 2017 PEN America Literary Awards

The new PEN/Nabokov Award was given for a body of work “of enduring originality and consummate craftsmanship.” As its winner, Adonis receives a $50,000 prize. The fancied-up ceremony was hosted by former Daily Show correspondent Aasif Mandvi, and its theme was “Books Across Borders.”


Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailPrintLinkedInRedditGoogleTumblrPinterestPocketLike this:Like Loading…‹ With English PEN and ‘The Enemies Project,’ Works in Solidarity with At-risk WritersCategories: Libya, other literary prizes, Syria

1 reply


March 28, 2017 • 6:12 pm

Reblogged this on kalimat2016. PEN America’s 2017 awards were announced last night in a ceremony   Publishers Weekly   called “scaled up” and “political,” and which PEN said they imagined as   a   “celebration of literature on par with awards shows for other art forms”:
Photo courtesy PEN America. The Syrian poet — whose work was at the vanguard   of the great shifts in Arabic poetry of the mid 20th century — has been mentioned off and on as a finalist for the Nobel ever since, although his political statements have sometimes complicated the reception of his work. Translator Elisabeth Jaquette also got a shoutout at the awards ceremony as one of the PEN/HEIM   grantees for 2017, awarded for translation-in-progress of Sudanese writer Rania Mamoun’s   Thirteen Months of Sunrises. Reply ↓ The headlining first-ever   PEN/Jean Stein Book Award, worth $75,000, went to Hisham Matar for his brilliant   The Return:   Fathers, Sons and the Lands In Between   (review, essay)   in what PEN America’s news release calls a “dramatic live announcement.”
Other awards announced live on Monday night included the new PEN/Nabokov Award for Achievement in International Literature, which went to the Syrian poet   Adonis, who PEN America called somewhat reductively in their news release “the greatest living poet   of the Arab world.”
Adonis, we know from Denys Johnson-Davies’ memoir, was mentioned as a possibility for the Nobel Prize for Literature as early as 1988, when the prize went to Naguib Mahfouz.