Salwa Bakr, Arundhati Roy Win in Women-dominated 2017 Mahmoud Darwish Prize

Last year’s prizes went to Zaqtan, Lebanese novelist Elias Khoury, and US novelist Alice Walker. Chaired by Faisal Darraj, it also included prominent authors   Ibrahim Abdelmeguid, Said al-Kafrawi, Basma Nsour, Jamal Naji, Hisham Bustani, Jabbour Douaihy, and Louay Hamza Abbas. Read   an essay about Bakr by Elisabeth Jaquette: “Women and Arabic Literature.”
Also read   the short story “The Rooster’s Egg,” trans. There is a cash award of $25,000 for each of the winners. Egyptian author Salwa Bakr and Indian novelist and activist Arundhati Roy were two of three winners for the 2017 Mahmoud Darwish Prize, announced earlier this month in Ramallah:
The third winner of the prize — announced each year on the anniversary of Darwish’s birth — was Palestinian historian Maher Sharif. Advertisements

Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailPrintLinkedInRedditGoogleTumblrPinterestPocketLike this:Like Loading…‹ Translating the ‘Book of Safety’ and Why ‘Checkmate’s Nothing to Crow Over’Categories: other literary prizes, Palestine Zaqtan reportedly said, at the announcement,   that the award upholds the values for which Mahmoud Darwish fought. The winners were announced by Palestinian writer Ghassan Zaqtan, one of last year’s three laureates. The prize jury was a who’s-who of Arab writers. Chip Rossetti.