International Prize for Arabic Fiction Announces 2018 Longlist: Packed with Well-known Writers

It’s set for an April release from OneWorld. There will be more on the longlist as the day progresses. Advertisements

Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailPrintLinkedInRedditGoogleTumblrWhatsAppPinterestTelegramPocketSkypeLike this:Like Loading…‹ Elisabeth Jaquette’s Translation of ‘The Queue’ Shortlisted for Inaugural TA First Translation PrizeCategories: International Prize for Arabic Fiction (IPAF) This year’s chair is Jordanian academic Ibrahim Al Saafin. The prize also supports translation into English, and two previous winners appear in English this year. The International Prize for Arabic Fiction has released their sixteen-book longlist for 2018, with a number of familiar authors:  

The 2018 judges were also announced. The shortlist will be announced in February. Each of the shortlisted writers will be given a $10,000 prize, with an additional $50,000 for the winner. Dima Wannous’s   The Frightened Ones   is also being translated by Elisabeth Jaquette. Rabai al-Madhoun’s 2016-winning book, Destinies: Concerto of the Holocaust and the Nakba, is set to be published in Paul Starkey’s translation by Hoopoe Fiction in April. This is a steep decline from previous years, following a change in the rules aimed at limiting submissions. According to prize administrator Fleur Montanaro, there were 33 submissions of novels by authors under 40, and   thirty of this year’s submissions — about a quarter — were books by women. Ahmed Saadawi’s Frankenstein in Baghdad, which won the IPAF prize in 2014, will be published in Jonathan Wright’s translation this month by Penguin and Oneworld. There were 180 submissions in 2015, 159 in 2016 and 186 in 2017. The others are Algerian author   Inam Bioud, Sudanese-British novelist Jamal Mahjoub, Palestinian author   Mahmoud Shukair,   and Slovenian author-translator   Barbara Skubic. At least one of the novels, Shahad al-Rawi’s   Baghdad Clock,   has already been translated into English, by Luke Leafgren. This year’s sixteen-novel longlist was chosen from among 124 total submissions sent in from 79 publishers. The winner, as every year, will be announced on the eve of the Abu Dhabi International Book Fair, on April 24, 2018.