Sunday Submissions: Announcing the 2018 ArabLit Story Prize

Note: It is preferable that you   do not put   author or translator’s name on the attached works. 2)   The story in translation, rendered as 2000 words or fewer in English, attached as a Word document. The shortlist of five stories   will be announced on September 10, 2018. 4) Some evidence you have the rights to translate and publish this story, such as an email from the author or a scanned note. Winnings will be split between author and translator. Submissions close:   May 15, 2018 at midnight GMT. Submission materials must include: 1) Cover letter with the name of author, translator, story, and length. Advertisements

Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailPrintLinkedInRedditGoogleTumblrWhatsAppPinterestTelegramPocketSkypeLike this:Like Loading…‹ Syrian, Kurdish Writers Awarded Year-long Writing Grants in BerlinCategories: ArabLit Story Prize 2018, submissions 3) The story in the original Arabic, preferably in the same Word document. Questions about submissions   can be sent to or GMT. Translators must have rights to the work, and translations must have been previously unpublished. The ArabLit Story Prize has hit full funding and is set to open for submissions on February 15, 2018:

The   ArabLit Story Prize   is an award for the best short stories, in any genre, newly translated from Arabic into English. Submissions open: February 15, 2018 at 5 a.m. The winner   will be announced on October 10, 2018. Shortlisted stories will have the opportunity to be published on the ArabLit website as well as a future anthology. Robin Moger); award-winning translator Thoraya El Rayyes (co-winner of 2014 University of Arkansas   Arabic Translation Award for her translation of   The Perception of Meaning); novelist and commentator Ruqaya Izzidien (The Watermelon Boys,   forthcoming Hoopoe Fiction). Stories will be judged primarily on the quality of the translated work as a thing-in-itself, although translators must also submit the Arabic original, as this must be a translation, not a loose adaptation nor a work written originally in English. Thanks to everyone who has made this happen:   gh, Sophia Brown, Iain McCoy, Sonali Pahwa, Niamh McBurney, Andy Smart, Mark Marroquin, Ben Koerber, Christopher Stone, Erin Twohig, Zora O’Neill, Nadine, Andrew Leber, Shan Chakraborty, Sherine Elbanhawy, Shawkat Toorawa, Rachel Daum, Betty Rosen, Johanna Sellman, Daniel Hahn, Maan Abu Taleb, Perween Richards, Leri Price, Judith Naeff, Dean Kloker, Jonathan Wright, Norbert Hirschhorn, Levi Thompson, Tami Chapnik, Kevin Riordan, Joy Garnett, Susan Kang, Hilary Plum, Alexander, Samah Selim, Joseph Farag, Susan Harris, Siwar Masannat, Hosam, Dima Ayoub, Elliott Colla, Guy Gunaratne, Rebekah Maggor, Alex Zucker, Yasmine Seale, M Litvin, Eva Martín, Scott A Wahl, and Thoraya El Rayyes. The prize:   $50 to each shortlisted story, an additional $200 to the winner. In any case, names will be stripped off before they are sent to judges. Submissions address: The judges are   novelist, short-story writer, and critic Maan Abu Taleb (All the Battles,   tr.